Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Brush #12 vs. Brush #14 vs. Brush #7B

Anastasia Beverly Hills makes some of the best brow products currently on the market. Their brushes are no exception, with the #12 brush being a well-loved tool by many. However, I noticed that ABH also sold another brush, the #14, which is very similar to the #12. I was intrigued by it but could not find anything online comparing the two. So, I took it upon myself to investigate and see what the differences are between these two brushes. If you’re interested in finding out which brush is better, or wtf is the difference between the two, please keep reading! 2020 Update: this blog post now includes a comparison between the ABH #12 and #14 brushes with the #7B brush!

Overview

The #12 brush is the more popular of the two. It retails for $23 CAD and can be purchased from a variety of retailers which carry Anastasia Beverly Hills, including their website, Sephora, and Nordstrom. The #14 brush, however, retails for $24 CAD and can only be purchased from the Sephora website in Canada, but it is also available on the Macy’s website in the US. Oddly enough, the #14 brush doesn’t show up on the Anastasia Beverly Hills website.

The brushes themselves are extremely similar, and going off images found on the internet, they are barely distinguishable from one another. Perhaps the #14 brush may look slightly smaller than the #12 brush in pictures, but apart from that, there aren’t any crazy differences. In person, however, it is clear that the #12 brush is much thicker and a little wider than the #14 brush.

Anastasia Beverly Hills #12 #14 brush comparison differences ABH brush

The #14 brush is much more fine and seems like a better candidate for more precise line work.

Anastasia Beverly Hills #12 #14 brush comparison differences ABH brush

Performance

I used both brushes with the Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow Pomade to see how they work with product. As I suspected, the #12 brush creates more of a thick and harsh line since it’s more densely packed and is wider than the #14 brush. The #14 brush creates very fine lines which aren’t too intense. Although it’s thinner and smaller, it has firm bristles which would work very well for creating strokes mimicking brow hairs.

image-4-1600x1069

Strokes by ABH brow brushes: #12 on left; #14 on right

To wrap it up, I would say that both brushes are excellent, however you definitely don’t need both. I personally prefer the #14 brush over the #12 brush when using the Dipbrow pomade simply because it prevents you from making your brows too intense. However, with a brow powder, I prefer the #12 brush since it is more dense and thick and can pick up and apply powders more effectively.

2020 Update

It’s been about 4 years since I made this post. I’m happy to say that I still have these two brushes in my collection, and I finally decided to complete my ABH brow brush collection with the addition of the #7B brush!

ABH brow brush 12 vs 14 vs 7B

The Anastasia Beverly Hills #7B brush is essentially the love child of the #12 brush and the #14 brush: it has the width of the #12 brush with the precision of the #14 brush.

ABH brow brush 12 vs 14 vs 7B

ABH brow brush 12 vs 14 vs 7B

The #7B brush is very fine, making it more suitable for pomades rather than powder (in my opinion, anyway). I noticed that the bristles on the #7B brush were quite stiff in comparison to the #12 and #14 brushes, but that could also just be a result of the other brushes being much older and more well loved.

ABH brow brush 12 vs 14 vs 7B

Strokes by ABH brow brushes using ABH Dipbrow in Medium Brown

 

What are your favourite brow brushes?

Have your tried any of these brushes out?

Let me know in the comments!

24 thoughts on “Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Brush #12 vs. Brush #14 vs. Brush #7B

  1. Thanks! I didn’t see the difference and am not make up savvy so this post cleared my confusion. I use brow powder, think I’m going to go with the #12.

    Like

  2. Thanks so much for the comparison! Been looking everywhere for a side by side review of the two, but only ever find #12 vs #7. Would you be able to compare these two with MAC’s angled brow brushes, including MAC 263? Curious to see them all side by side and up close. You do a great job showing the bristles.

    Like

    1. You’re very welcome! I was interested in picking up the MAC 263 brush in the near future, so I’ll definitely make a comparison once I get it 🙂

      Like

  3. Great post! I was having a hard time figuring out the difference between these two, #14 it is! Thanks for posting this!

    Like

  4. ABH 7B BRUSH! It’s the best brow brush ever… ever.. I felt the other brushes at ulta but I wasnt impressed. The 7b can make the finest lines and it works awesome in my abh pomade & powder. Im still considering getting them. One day I wish to have all abh brushes. I adore the ones I own so far.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Are all of these the same length? The ABH I have now gets lost in my make up brush holder because it is shorter. Thus, I am looking for a full length replacement.

    Like

    1. They are the same length, unfortunately. Another option which I also tried was the eyebrow brush by Make Up For Ever. It also is double-ended with a spoolie. That one is much longer than the ABH ones, but I found the bristles too scratchy and not as precise.

      Like

  6. I am so glad you posted this!! I was looking for something (or someone) that could do a comparison and you nailed it! Thank you so much.

    Like

  7. Thank you so much! I had the 12 but it was a bit too thick to do precision hair strokes. I just bought the 7B 🙂 Super helpful article.

    Like

    1. Hello! Unfortunately I haven’t, but I can try to make a guesstimate for you!

      While it looks like similar in shape to 7B, I feel like the bristles might be a different texture.. maybe thicker? The reason why I say this is because according to reviews for the #15 brush, people also use it as a brush for eyeliner. Texturally, I would say 7B may be too fine to use as a eyeliner brush. Depending on your preferences, this could make #15 a better option. Something else to consider is that #15 is missing the spoolie on the other end.

      I hope this helps

      Like

Leave a comment